At a glance:
|Builder:||Belfast & County Down Railway (Queen's Quay Works)|
|Original company:||Belfast & County Down Railway|
|Final company:||Northern Ireland Railways|
|Arrived at DCDR:||1990|
Our examples were built by the Belfast and County Down Railway in their workshops at Queen’s Quay in 1928. The following year they were used to transport the girders used in the new Quoile Bridge on the mainline from Belfast to Downpatrick – the one in the same spot as our very own Quoile Bridge today, which is designed to match the original as closely as possible.
Although the history of the bridge wagons gets somewhat hazy after this, they had wound up in Antrim by the 1980s. We acquired them in 1990, at the same time as we were retrieving the water tower from Antrim station. They are currently stored off-track awaiting restoration, and are unique examples of an extremely rare set of vehicles.