At a glance:
|Builder:||Great Southern & Western Railway (Inchicore Works)|
|Original company:||Great Southern & Western Railway|
|Final company:||Córas Iompair Éireann|
|Arrived at DCDR:||2004|
Following withdrawal from passenger service in the 1960s, 1287 was used as a dormitory coach for departmental staff until it was purchased by the Railway Preservation Society of Ireland in 1974. It was used as steam crew accommodation at their base at Whitehead until its interior was unfortunately destroyed by an electrical fire in 2003, after which it was moved to Downpatrick where some remedial repairs were carried out. Situated semi-permanently behind the Carriage Gallery, it now contains a permanent way office, a changing room, and of course a mess room – where many a scheme has been hatched over a strong cup of brew! 1287 serves us well as a ‘home away from home’ for our volunteers, a unique way of ensuring that this museum piece will be well looked after until its time comes for eventual restoration to operational condition.